Lambert And Urban Early Winners ACM Awards



Miranda Lambert and Keith Urban received their first trophy at the 2014 edition for the Academy of Country Music Awards on Sunday night, April 6th, as they graced the red carpet in Las Vegas.

The duo was awarded the vocal Event of the Year prize for their duet We Were Us, prior to the ceremony at the MGM Grand Garden Arena.

Lambert, nominated for seven Academy at the Country Music Awards, received this award as her 16th trophy with the win.

The evening kicked off with the Band Perry singing their hit Chainsaw, while duo Florida Gerogia Line played their tune Stay. Brett Eldredge took the stage with Beat of the Music and Brad Paisley sang his song River Bank for the first time on TV.

Blake Shelton, the host, took a short break from his hosting duties only to sing My Eyes with Gwen Sebastian.

Blake and his co-host, Luke Bryan, were both nominated for the Entertainer of the Year prize, and they are emceeing the ceremony for the second year in a row.

The Academy of Country Music Awards kicked off in 1966, honoring the industry’s accomplishments during the previous year. It was the first country music awards program held by a major organization. The Academy’s trademark “hat” trophy was created in 1968.

The awards were first televised in 1972 on ABC. In 1979, the Academy joined with Dick Clark Productions to produce the show. Dick Clark and Al Schwartz served as producers while Gene Weed served as director. Under their guidance, the show moved to NBC and finally to CBS, where it remains today.

In 2003, the awards show left Los Angeles and moved to Las Vegas at the Mandalay Bay Events Center. The show is now held at the MGM Grand Garden Arena. The Academy also adopted a modern version of the “hat” trophy that year, which is now made by New York firm Society Awards.

In 2004 the organization implemented online voting for its professional members, becoming the first televised awards show ever to do so.

Prev1 of 2Next

Most Popular

Most Popular