Rihanna Dominates First-Ever iHeartRadio Music Awards



Despite arriving late and missing out on accepting the first ever trophy, pop icon Rihanna won the inaugural iHeartRadio Music Awards in los Angeles last Thursday.

The star was stuck in a traffic jam and wasn’t present at the Shrine Auditorium when she won the night’s Hip Hop/R&B Song of the Year for Pour it Up.
However, she arrived later and was present to receive her awards for Best Fan Army, Artist of the Year and Song of the Year (Stay).

While accepting the award, she stated, “This record would never have been this big if it wasn’t for you.
Then she said while accepting her Artist of the Year honor, “Shout out to everybody who has ever worked on my project. I know I’m a pain in the a** – but it’s worth it!

Another star of the night was Pharrell Williams who picked up the first-ever iHeartRadio Innovator Award.

Gwen Stefani, who served as a presented, called her pal “the coolest guy ever”.

He then performed his hits including Blurred Lines, Get Lucky and Happy, the songs that changed the world.

During his acceptance speech, the man of the hour also thanked his wife Lasichanh and son Rocket. He said, “I never dreamt in a million years that I’d be standing here as an artist… All I did was write the songs and you guys (fans) did all the heavy lifting, all the hard work, all those millions of views on YouTube… Thank you guys so much for lifting me so high.”

Pitbull opened the show with Wild Wild Love, but without his partner Kesha. Their track won the Best Collaboration trophy.

There were also Bastille, Ariana Grande, Shakira, Kendrick Lamar and 30 Seconds to Mars, who played City of Angels as frontman Jared Leto’s short film featuring celebs such as Kanye West, Selena Gomez and Lindsay Lohan talking about their love of Los Angeles was played on video screens on both sides of the stage.

Usher showed off his Michael Jackson moves as he performed to the king of Pop’s Love Felt So Good debut.

As Michael’s pictures appeared on video screens, Usher and dancers performed his moonwalk and other trademark moves.
More than 60 million U.S. radio listeners voted for the prizegiving.

Here’s the full list of prizewinners:

  • Hip Hop/R&B Song of the Year – Pour it Up by Rihanna
  • Best Collaboration – Timber by Pitbull & Kesha
  • Best Lyrics – Wrecking Ball by Miley Cyrus
  • Best New Artist – Lorde
  • Best Fan Army – Rihanna’s Navy
  • Song of the Year – Stay by Rihanna
  • Alternative Rock Song of the Year – Demons by Imagine Dragons
  • Young Influencer Award – Ariana Grande
  • Instagram Award – Austin Mahone
  • EDM (Electronic Dance Music) Song of the Year – Wake Me Up by Avicii & Aloe Blacc
  • Country Song of the Year – Boys ‘Round Here by Blake Shelton
  • Artist of the Year – Rihanna
Prev1 of 2Next

Most Popular

Most Popular